Signout of apple ID/icloud when icloud storage is full deletes pictures/videos permanently
So couple days a go i signed out of my apple ID and lost 6 months worth of my photos/videos that I am not able to recover anymore.
I contacted apple support, tried recovery tool, and checked iCloud but recovery cannot be done.
These family pictures will never come back and is really upsetting.
I want to make sure that people are careful when signing out so this doesn’t happen to anyone.
My iPhone situation: iCloud on (full storage)
optimize iPhone storage: on
For people that don’t know, optimize storage saves a smaller size image on your phone and the full sized image is stored in the cloud. This is used to save space on your iPhone.
When you sign out of apple ID, you also have to sign out of iCloud.
When you try to sign out, your prompted something similar to below:
“If you sign out of your account, all Photo Stream photos and iCloud Drive stored in iCloud will be removed from this iPhone.”
I actually don’t remember the exact wording (i found this when i was searching to recover my pictures) because i thought i was just signing out of iCloud and did not pay much attention about the warning but this was my biggest mistake.
When i clicked signed out i lost 6 months worth of pictures and videos that were in the “stored” in the iCloud was deleted from my phone.
Generally, if your iCloud storage is not full, this is not a big problem. Once you sign in to you iCloud again, the pictures/videos should reappear on your phone.
The problem that i had is that my iCloud storage has been full for 6 months. So these are not in the iCloud and just gone. This one single click deleted hundreds of photos and videos. They are not in recently deleted, just gone.
I see that this is my mistake but if my iCloud is full, my iPhone should realize that and save the originals in my actual phone device so they don’t get permanently deleted with one click… this is so ridiculous. I don’t even know where the original photos were supposedly being stored with since iCloud was full. My iPhone has plenty of space and i actually don’t even realize when i opted in this optimize iPhone storage option.
tl:dr Don’t sign out of iCloud when iCloud has been full for a while and you are using optimize storage because it will delete bunch of photos in one sign out click.