US announces delayed tariffs on six countries that tax digital goods

The U.S. has introduced new suspended tariffs against six countries that have target tech giants by implementing digital services taxes, the office of the U.S. Trade Representative said.

Credit: Apple

Austria, India, Italy, Spain, Turkey, and the U.K. will be subject to the tariffs. They’re set at 25% on about $2 billion worth of goods, though they won’t take effect for 180 days while the U.S. continues to negotiate on a proposed global tax regime.

Read more…

Source link